Extending My Reach

“What would I do if I ran my own business?? How could I extend my reach to help other people? I wanted to have a Christian touch, but not yell at my market..”

May 7th, 2016 I graduated from Oklahoma State University. I had just received my degree in Entrepreneurship and was planning for my wedding that was going to take place exactly ONE WEEK from the day. One week after the honeymoon I was going to start my first full time job – I was a real adult.. Barley.

My new job required me to dress in a full suit everyday. I soon realized my 3 pair of dress socks, old undershirts & small selection of ties wasn’t going to cut it. One of my ties had a stain on it (no idea how it got there, when did I even wear it??) which slimmed my selection by one. I needed to grow my wardrobe .. BUT THAT’S EXPENSIVE! So I started looking into subscription boxes to help, but I couldn’t find a box that satisfied my desire to receive the same products every month.

*thinking to myself*
I have a degree in entrepreneurship, it’s my goal one day to be self employed. Build my own box?? What else would I add to these existing boxes? Coffee. Undershirt. The same products every month. Idea city..

What would I do if I ran my own business?? How could I extend my reach to help other people? I wanted to have a Christian touch, but not yell at my market. Should I help the unemployed? Should I donate to a church? My church? Salvation Army? So many questions.. Who knew the concept of being driven my generosity could be so confusing.. Being a follower of Jesus, I decided that Samaritan’s Purse was perfect for me. They provide for people in a variety of circumstances across the world.. INCLUDING the United States. They are very outspoken about their love for Jesus & his teachings. This is my kind of charity. I like it. Now how much money should I give? 10%? A quarter? Half? I don’t depend on this for my living (hopefully one day I will), so I have a chance to be irrationally generous. I decided 25% felt right. I have a normal person job, so I don’t depend on this for a living. However, if I do one day, keeping 75% of the profit should be more than plenty.

Here I am, trying to figure out how to market my product & get it in front of the right eyes. Everyone knows an over night success actually takes ten years. Cheers to ten years. Check us out HERE – Feel free to drop any advice you have. Join our journey – let’s be friends.

Kevin

img_4888

 

Leave a Reply

